2.en.53 in England “it” rains more than in Spain.. but in Spain the rain stays mainly in the plain, doesn’t it?

It is raining cats and dogs

This winter has been particularly cold in Sweden, it snowed in  late October

does it rain very often in Majorca during summer?

With Emili and Magdalena you are learning lots of syntax, that’s good, I will not need to explain to you what subject and predicate are, neither transitive or intransitive verbs, in fact it is the same in English. However, there are differences among languages you need to be aware of.

In English, “weather verbs” rain, snow, NEED A SUBJECT.

We use “it”

Are you familiar with  the song “The rain in Spain stays mainly on the plain” Have you seen the old musical “My Fair Lady”?

I will tell you about it some other time. With a little bit of effort you can achieve a perfect English pronunciation, just as Eliza does after a crash course on phonetics by professor  Higgins.

In this video you will see how happy they are after she manages to pronounce the sentence correctly.

By the way, you have been correcting spelling mistakes in “Boy”, you did very well at spotting mistakes. Spelling mistakes were often made because some words  were pronounced the same and spelled differently: “hair/hare”

plane/plain are one of those pairs you should not confuse.

Notice how Professor Higgins repeats the question without forgetting the “it”

“Where does it rain?” “Where does it rain?”

Sing along!

  1. Do you know the name of the play My Fair Lady was based on?
  2. Have you seen the film by Julie Andrews?
  3. Do you remember the Photographic Exhibition by Lartigue we went to see at La Caixa? Do you remember I told you some of the photos of elegant women wearing hats had inspired the costumes of My Fair Lady musical?
  4. Did you like the video?
  5. What does soggy mean?
  6. What do you think of the “Spanish” dance?

 

Post your answers to the blog

16 Respostes to “2.en.53 in England “it” rains more than in Spain.. but in Spain the rain stays mainly in the plain, doesn’t it?”

  1. Love Says:

    It is raining cats and dogs, I like this expression, its funny, the first time that I heard that, i was thinking about it…

  2. Love Says:

    1. It is based on the play Pygmalion by George Bernard Shaw.
    2. No I didn’t.
    3. Yes, I remember, some of the hats that women wore in the photos of the Exhibition are quite similar to that.
    4. Yes I like it.
    5. Soggy means very wet and soft.
    6. It is nice and funny.

  3. sarah789 Says:

    1) Is a musical based upon George Bernard Shaw’s Pygmalion.
    2) No, I didn’t.
    3) Yes, the clothes are very similars to the exhibition.
    4) First I think it was bored, but then it was very well.
    5) Soggy: very wet and soft.
    6) I like it, is very nice.

  4. miguelinramonllull Says:

    1) Is a musical, based on the theater work Pigmalión of George Bernard Shaw.
    2) Yes.
    3) Yes, They wore similar clothes like of the clothes of the exhibition photos.
    4) Yes, it not was boring.
    5) Soggy is wet and soft.
    6) Is very funny and older.

  5. Peptoni Font Says:

    1. It is based on the play Pygmalion by George Bernard Shaw.
    2. No I haven’t.
    3. Yes are the same style.
    4. Yes I liked it
    5. Soggy means something that is wet and damp.
    6. I think is original.

  6. aina tous Says:

    1- Yes, I know, It’s based on the play Pygmalion by George Bernard Shaw.
    2-No, I didn’t see this film.
    3-Yes, I like the video.
    5-Soggy: wet and damp.
    6- I don’t like the spanish dance.

  7. philline Says:

    1. It’s based on Pygmalion by George Bernard Shaw.
    2. No, I’ve never seen the movie.
    3. Yes, they are very similar.
    4. Yes, I liked it.
    5. ‘Soggy’ means wet.
    5. I think is funny.

  8. tatidt Says:

    1- It’s a musical based on Pygmalion, by George Bernand Shaw.
    2- I have never seen the movie! >.<!
    3- When I first saw the photo I though it was a Lartigue's one!
    4- Yes, but it's a little bit… Boring, because she only says: The rain in Spain stays etc.
    5- The meaning of "Soggy" is wet and soft (Mojado y blando)
    6- It's very funny!

  9. juditell Says:

    1) It is a musical and It’s based on the play Pygmalion by George Bernard Shaw.
    2) No, I didn’t.
    3) Yes, the clothes and the hats are very similar.
    4) Yes, I like it but in the video the woman interpret a bull, and this part I don’t like it.
    5) Soggy is wet and soft.
    6) It’s funny!

  10. Daryl Jade Says:

    1. It was based on Pygmalion.
    2. No, I have never seen it.
    3. Yes, I did. Yes, they were.
    4. Yes, I liked it.
    5. Soggy means wet.
    6. They were good.

  11. angelblanchvallespir Says:

    1. It is based on Pygmalion.
    2. No I haven’t.
    3. Yes, they are the same style.
    4. Yes I liked it.
    5. Soggy means something that is wet.
    6. They are funny.

  12. pepe1997 Says:

    1)It’s based in a pygmalion.
    2)Yes.
    3)Yes it’s very similar style.
    4)Yes I like.
    5)When you are wet.

  13. andrea199762 Says:

    1. Is a musical based upon George Bernard Shaw’s Pygmalion.
    2. No.
    3. Yes there are same style.
    4. Yes, I liked.
    5. Soggy means something that is wet and damp.
    6. I liked, it’s very nice.

  14. xiskete Says:

    1) It is based on the theater of Pigmalion.
    2) No, I didn’t see.
    3) Yes, is very similar.
    4) Yes is good.
    5) Soggy is wet and soft.
    6) Yes, are very good.

  15. emil7234 Says:

    1. It`s based on Pygmalion of George Bernard Shaw.
    2. No , I haven`t see it.
    3. Yes, the clothes and the hats are similar.
    4. Biggining it was bored but as it advansed it charged life.
    5. Soggy means damp and heavy.
    6. I think is funny.

  16. jlny7288 Says:

    1. It is based on Pygmalion, by George Bernand Shaw.
    2. No, I didn’t see it.
    3. Yes, they have the same style.
    4. Yes , I liked it.
    5. Soggy means “very wet and soft”
    6. I liked it, it is very funny.


Deixa un comentari

